Fun with Daddy’s Shaving Cream! Foam Art Sensory Play

I’ve been looking into some sensory play with materials we have around the house. I recall seeing a few Blogs using shaving cream.

1: Shaving Cream Finger Painting on Aluminum Foil 

IMG_0393

Ingredients:

  • Shaving cream
  • Food coloring
  • Fingers
  • Lots of wipes for cleaning up!

Just be extra cautious! I was going to use popsicle sicks because food coloring stains but I knew the kids won’t care for that! So straight into finger painting! What’s a bit of stained fingers for loads of fun??

IMG_0379 IMG_0382 IMG_0384 IMG_0386 IMG_0389 IMG_0392 IMG_0393

Shaving Cream Foam Paint

IMG_0424

To continue our fun with shaving cream, I thought we’d try to make foam paint  out of shaving cream. Unsure how it will turn out and what the exact recipe is, we’ve made a foam paint sampler!

I loosely followed a recipe from Meaningful Mama

  • 3/4 cup shaving cream
  • 1/4 cup Elmer’s glue
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • food coloring

She tried a few different recipes to work out her favourite. I suggest you do the same! I found the recipe above was a bit thick so I just added more shaving cream till it was the consistency I wanted for the grommies.

IMG_0408

I put about 1-2 drops of food coloring in each small zip bags and then added the foam mixture in to mix with my hands.

IMG_0409 IMG_0410 IMG_0411 IMG_0412

Snip a little hole in one of the corners of each bag to use it like a piping bag!

IMG_0413

Then we used little cotton swaps (Q-tips) to paint. Watch out! The little ones won’t be able to resist FINGER painting and putting the glue mixture all over their faces! Make sure you have your wipes ready.

IMG_0421 IMG_0423

IMG_0424

I think next time…we might try making puffy paint that you can microwave!

Leave a Reply

