Natural Water Beads Sensory Tub – Chia Seeds

IMG_0619

Chia Seed Mini Water Beads 

I’ve been looking into water beads but I’ve also been a bit weary about how safe it would be in case my 21 mo decides to pop one in her mouth.

After researching edible and safe water beads, I came across Fun At Home With Kids and their idea of using BASIL SEEDS. Unfortunately, with no car and two kids in tow, I could only find their alternative suggestion: Chia Seeds!

I was really looking forward to this experiment!

I followed Fun At Home With Kid’s recipe:

  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds (I only found black seeds at Safeway)
  • 1 cup of water
  • food coloring

IMG_0575 IMG_0574 IMG_0576

After mixing everything together, place it in a dark, cool spot and let the seeds absorb the water. The seeds form a sort of water bubble around itself!

After trying the recipe from Fun At Home, I think next time I might try less water. Because there was so much water and I didn’t have a fine sieve to drain the colored water out, all the colors mixed together when I placed it in the tub. See photos below.

IMG_0607 IMG_0608 IMG_0610 IMG_0611 IMG_0613 IMG_0614 IMG_0617

I think the seeds were a little bit too small. It is also quite sticky if it gets on your clothes. And unless you have an extremely neat child OR it’s middle of a hot summer and they can play in the nud, you might want to keep a watchful eye to make sure they don’t make a huge mess!

We might try tapioca balls next time too. I found the seeds are too small but they were still loads of fun.

Leave a Reply

