Arctic YELLOW (ew) Ice Expedition – frozen lemon jelly archaeological dig

IMG_0647

J has always loved dinosaur egg excavation. Being it’s been such a warm and sunny winter, I found a few fun ice excavation ideas from Pinterest.  Some use just ice. Some froze jelly. What a great idea I saw from Fun at Home with Kids. I thought I’d try both! First, I froze some water about an inch thick. Then I made some jello out of a store-bought package and poured it on top and then placed little animal figurines on top of the ice. OOPS! The ice came loose and floated to the top. That’s ok, I just reversed it! It worked out better in the end because the figurines sunk into the jelly section and the frozen jelly would be easier to dig into than a solid block of ice!

IMG_0624 IMG_0625

Once I was done, I placed the tray into the freezer. Now you wait! I had it sit overnight to be safe.

Why YELLOW jello (ice) you ask? My son chose it so how can I refuse?! 🙂

IMG_0627

IMG_0633 IMG_0634

We tried sprinkling (pouring by N ;)) salt and water onto our frozen jello to help melt the ice. Then we start DIGGING!!

IMG_0635

The caribou is almost free

IMG_0637 IMG_0641 IMG_0645

N decided to feed some to her friend Elsa

IMG_0643

J came in to warm up by the fire! Brrrr

IMG_0648

Leave a Reply

