Fun with Colors – Apple Scented Soft Play Dough and Alphabet Rocks (baked cotton balls)

Apple Scented Soft Play Dough – using conditioner and corn starch (flour) 

IMG_0686

The kids are just DYING to have fun getting messy again! Today we made some super SOFT apple-scented play dough.

Recipe I used:

  • 2 cups corn starch
  • 1 cup apple-scented conditioner (I bought it for 99 cents at Safeway)
  • food coloring

First I mixed the starch and conditioner. To be honest, I eye-balled it and added a little bit of conditioner at a time till it is the right consistency. Most other mummies will tell you do use 1 part conditioner with 2 parts corn starch. It was already smelling AMAZING! Like apple flavored gum! The kids couldn’t wait! I had to shoo them off several times before it was ready!

IMG_0671 IMG_0684

Doesn’t that look fun?! I handed them some of their figurines and play utensils and then let them go crazy!

Looks like our caribou friend has survived the arctic freeze…He now treks amongst the soft apple scented play doughy terrain with its fellow survivors…

IMG_0685 IMG_0673

IMG_0674 IMG_0675 IMG_0676 IMG_0678

Who wants a play dough pizza???

IMG_0680 IMG_0683 IMG_0682

Alphabet Rocks – baked cotton balls

I happened upon this wonderful activity from Stir the Wonder. They made ABC Moon Rocks! Fun fun fun!!! So I thought we’d try a version of their fun activity.

My recipe:

  • 1/4 cup self rising flour
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • food coloring

I used paint container liners and poured the ingredients into each container for mixing.

IMG_0720 IMG_0721 IMG_0722 IMG_0723

Once I had all the colors mixed up, I called the kids over to try making their own colorful alphabet rocks!

First I demonstrated so they knew what to do.

IMG_0724

Little Gnomes turn!

IMG_0725

Who’s ready for some fun mess??

IMG_0726

IMG_0727 IMG_0729

Each cotton balls were placed on a pre-greased pan (or your can line it with baking paper).

Once completed, place the tray of cotton balls into the over at 300 F (150 C) for an hour. I only had it in for 45 minutes and they were ready. It really depends on your oven especially if you have a fan-forced fan. That would change things a bit and probably would need less time in the oven.

IMG_0733

Let them cool and harden: I waited an hour so I took the kids to the park to burn off some of that extra energy!

IMG_0734

Then I used a black permanent marker and wrote the alphabet on them!

The kids love playing with them as is but you can do rock smashing too if you’d like! Just use a plastic play hammer and let your kiddo go wild!

IMG_0745

2 thoughts on “Fun with Colors – Apple Scented Soft Play Dough and Alphabet Rocks (baked cotton balls)

  1. Pingback: Alphabet Activities and Games + Name and Word Recognition Games | curiouslittlegnomes

  2. Pingback: Practicing Our Letters and Numbers – Name Recognition + Tracing (Part 1) | curiouslittlegnomes

Leave a Reply

