Happy Chinese New Year (Year of the Ram)! – Bottle stamping & cotton ball rams / sheeps

IMG_0839

Yes, yes I know. Valentine’s Day is before Chinese New Year! However, this is just too fun and too cute not to make! So I decided not to wait. Plus we’ve got the grandparents coming on Thursday so I’d love to give one to them.

This year, Chinese New Year falls on the 19th of February. The year of the RAM! If you are 1, 12, 24, 36, 48, and so forth this year, you are a ram! I’m a monkey. I’ll let you guess my age.

I’ve been surfing around on Pinterest for some fun CNY activities for the kids. From a few different inspirations, namely a post from Top DIY Ideas.

Here’s what you will need:

  • Plastic soda bottle – any bottle with a floral pattern on the bottom
  • Paper
  • Black marker (or paint if you prefer)
  • Pink paint (or any other blossom colors you prefer)
  • Cotton balls
  • Glue

My little gnomes are still quite young so while they were busy playing on their own this morning, I got a few sheets of paper out and drew black cherry blossom branches and rams on each sheet.

IMG_0825

For the rams, I drew their heads, horns, lets and outlined their furry bodies so the kids would know where to stick the “wool.”

IMG_0826

Then I set up the paint and bottles for the kids to stamp their blossoms! First they had some practice runs on some scrap paper. Once they knew what to do, I let them stamp the pictures I had prepared earlier.

IMG_0827 IMG_0828

After the blossoms were completed, I had them work on the rams’ woolly coats. My son LOVED this part! Maybe because the cotton balls were soft to touch and fun to pull apart. Or simply because how cute the baba sheeps looked!

I help put glue on the paper and he stuck them on. If your child is older, s/he can do all the steps I helped prepare for mine 🙂 They will love the whole process! You can even prepare a sample one so they have some inspiration.

IMG_0829

Look at how proud he is of his beautiful work!

IMG_0830

And here are the finished products:

IMG_0831 IMG_0836 IMG_0841

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

