Homemade Dinosaur Bones – fun activity for little paleontologists

IMG_1330

I wanted to do more dinosaur related activities with the kids and I was inspired by this page out of J’s book to make some dinosaur bones

IMG_1237

I decided to make the bones out of modeling clay.

You can make these bones out of salt dough which is:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 1/2 cup water

You will have to bake it for 3 hours at 325 degrees F.

Since I’d rather save on gas / electricity, I opted for air dry modeling clay instead 🙂

I let the bones dry for at least 48 hours so they are rock hard. As you can guess, the skull took a bit longer as it was pretty thick (thick skull ha ha ha) 🙂

I made some rib bones, spine  segments, a hip bone, and humerus or femur bones…

IMG_1328

Once they dry, I decided to add this to my homemade sand to do a little excavation and sensory play!

IMG_1329

I also added some colorful beans to add to the texture. The kids loved seeing the extra colors in the sand.

IMG_1330

IMG_1331

Every discovered bone was met with excitement and wonder.

IMG_1332 IMG_1333 IMG_1335 IMG_1337

Then we asked our miniature dinosaur friends to join the fun!

IMG_1339

Mr giraffe decided to join in as well

IMG_1340

IMG_1341

Then we buried some gold coins like pirates…

IMG_1342

One thought on “Homemade Dinosaur Bones – fun activity for little paleontologists

  1. Pingback: Cardboard Dinosaur Cave | curiouslittlegnomes

Leave a Reply

