Homemade Sand – natural ingredients and safe for tots!

IMG_1194

I found a great recipe for homemade sand on How Stuff Works

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups dried used coffee grounds (sun or oven dried)
  • 2 cups cornmeal
  • 1 cup flour (I used wheat for darker color)
  • 1/2 cup salt

I found it quite difficult to drink that much coffee at such a short amount of time so for my batch, I had less coffee. Maybe about 2 cups. Since this is reusable sand (if you don’t get it dirty or wet), I figure I can always add more dried coffee later on. I just couldn’t wait 🙂

Make sure the used coffee grinds are completely dry before you add it into your mix. It may get moldy and/or clump up with the rest of the sand mix.

IMG_1188

I’ve added some colorful beans to add to the texture for the kids to play with.

IMG_1331

Simply store it in an airtight container or cover with plastic wrap for later usage!

IMG_1343

3 thoughts on “Homemade Sand – natural ingredients and safe for tots!

  1. Pingback: Homemade Dinosaur Bones – fun activity for little paleontologists | curiouslittlegnomes

  2. Pingback: Cardboard Dinosaur Cave | curiouslittlegnomes

  3. Pingback: Alphabet Activities and Games + Name and Word Recognition Games | curiouslittlegnomes

Leave a Reply

