Practicing Our Letters and Numbers – Name Recognition + Tracing (Part 1)

IMG_1986

I’ve been a bit quiet on the blogging front but it doesn’t mean we haven’t been busy! Aside from Easter celebrations and activities, we did heaps of learning activities to help the kids learn to recognize their names, spell their names, and write their names. On top of that, we are also practicing our numbers and counting!

Here are some fun AND easy activities to do with toddlers to help them recognize, spell, and write their names and numbers!

Dot Tracing – Numbers, Names, and Pictures

Josh LOVES rockets. He also loves drawing. However, he hesitates sometimes because he recognizes the fact that his drawings are not yet recognizable. Although, having said that, they ARE becoming more and more recognizable.  He’s been asking us to draw rockets and dinosaurs for him a lot. In order to encourage him to draw his beloved subjects, I thought I’d try drawing them in dots. They’re close together, making it easier for him to recognize the picture and to trace.

They were really excited to see this activity waiting for them!

IMG_1983 IMG_1984

With Josh’s numbers, I drew groups of dots for him to match the written number to.

IMG_1985 IMG_1986

IMG_1987

With N, I knew with her age, she doesn’t have the fine motor skill to do most of the tracing and match the dots to the written numbers. So instead, I drew the number of dots correlated to the written number. The idea is that the more she sees her name and the numbers, the easier it will be for her later on to recognize them.IMG_1988

Using Play Dough (or Cloud Dough in our case) to Spell and Write!

Back in February, I made some cloud dough out of apple conditioner and corn starch (flour). After each use, I’ve been storing them in glad wrap and zip locks. It’s been a while since we’ve last used it, so not surprisingly, they were a bit crumbly and dry. I added about a tsp of the same conditioner to each clump and mixed them in their glad wrap. That kept my hands clean and you don’t lose any of the dough because they can stick onto your hands.

IMG_2181 IMG_2182

It helps to fold the conditioner in

IMG_2183

IMG_2184

I also drew some simple templates of bugs for them to use to mold their dough onto.

IMG_2185 IMG_2186 IMG_2187

I lost my girl at butterfly. After that she wanted all her dough to fly 🙂

IMG_2189 IMG_2190

Using Stickers to Practice Name and Number Recognition

I had TONS of stickers leftover from St Patrick’s Day and Easter. So instead of keeping them in my art supply box for another year, I thought I’d let the kids use them up for this activity. They do love stickers!

Again, I drew their names and age in bubble font and let them go nuts with the stickers. Ok, N needed a bit of assistance 😉

IMG_2151 IMG_2154 IMG_2155 IMG_2157 IMG_2158

They turned out so pretty! I wish I could laminate these.

IMG_2159

When I have more free time, I’ll post Part 2 of 2. We did so many fun activities to help them learn their names, alphabet, and numbers. More to come!

Leave a Reply

