Practicing Our Numbers and Letters – Name & Number Recognition + Tracing (Part 2)

IMG_1968

It’s been so difficult lately with the kids not sleeping as well at night. It might be something to do with the warmer nights. Whatever it is, it’s taking it’s toll on me! EXHAUSTION! Even after a quick shut-eye during their naps aren’t cutting it. Migraines!! Ahhhhh…..hence the lack of blogging lately.

However, I’ve been dying to share more of our letters and numbers activities!!

Writing in Shaving Cream with Scent Reinforcements 

Back when I was studying for the SATs (gosh that was centuries ago), I remember reading about how citrus scents can improve cognitive function like visual-motor responses, provide alertness, and assist in memory recall! I have to admit, if I smell a certain brand of perfume, it’d remind me of my days at the university because it was the brand my professor wore. Similarly, when I was living in Australia, if I smelled pine, I’d get homesick as it reminded me of the pine trees in America. How about a special dish that only your mom used to make? Anton Ego from Ratatouille anyone?

anton-ego-290x290

Today, I cut up some ripe oranges and fresh lemons for the kids to smell, touch, and taste while we did our name recognition activity.

IMG_1967

I had them smell and taste some slices.

IMG_1968

Then placed sheets of foil in front of them to write their names on shaving cream. I’ve also presented their names with wooden letters so they can see how it should be spelled.

IMG_1969 IMG_1970

Josh loves the letter “O” 🙂

To help him remember “J,” I told him to remember that it’s the letter that looks like a hook. For “H,” I told him it looks like a little bridge. Seems to work!

IMG_1963 IMG_1964

So messy 😀

IMG_1965

Numbers Recognition and Counting – using foam numbers, index cards, cocktail sticks, and bottle caps

Here’s an easy activity you can do with your toddler. Although, it was not easy for big brother J to concentrate while little sister N was eagerly helping 😉

Here are my materials:

  • Homemade number flash cards with numbers written along with number of dots associated with that number
  • Cocktail stirrers
  • Bottle caps
  • $1-3 foam numbers from Target

IMG_2141

First, I laid out the cards from 1 – 10 and asked J to match the foam numbers to the cards. We read each number out loud.

IMG_2143

IMG_2148

IMG_2149

Then we sorted the bottle caps by color and counted how many there were. We found the matching index card and foam numbers. If J got stuck, I’d remind him to count the number of dots on the index card and match the bottle caps to the way the dots are drawn on the cards.

We used the stir sticks the same way and we used the sticks to trace the numbers like an ink-less pencil.

IMG_2150

We even sneaked in a little bit of simple maths (addition). Uh oh Tiger Mom alert! Poor kids.

IMG_2147

Wipe Off Activity Books

We’ve bought these activity books before but after our recent influx of tracing letters and numbers, J and N have refreshed their interests in these. J has been addicted! I couldn’t believe how his tracing improved so much in just a week. It was like he went to bed and woke up a year older!

We bought our wipe off books from Target for $4.99. They are by TRENDenterprises.com . They are full of fun activities, aligns with learning standards, and have bright, colorful pictures kids love…

I also found some good ones on Amazon by Roger Priddy.

IMG_2177 IMG_2191

Love it when you can see good results from all the hard work for both parent and child! Happy learning everyone!

Leave a Reply

