X – Rays and Sun Images – Activities with Toddlers

IMG_2252

Looking at X-Ray Images

I found some old x-rays of the kids the other day and thought it would be fun to show them what their bones look like!

Here’s J’s back, shoulders, ribs and arms! This was taken when he was only a day old!

IMG_2269

And here is a photo of my dating scan when I was 8 weeks along with N 🙂 The kids giggled when I pointed out they were only little eggs at that stage!

IMG_2270

X-Ray Paintings or Magic Paintings

Last week, I saw these gorgeous homemade “x-rays” on a fellow Instamom’s account. For the LIFE of me I cannot remember her account name nor find her account! I really wanted to thank her showing us this fun project!

What you will need:

  • Elmer’s Glue
  • Paper Towel
  • Dark-colored Paint (we used tempera paint because that’s what we have handy)
  • Paint prushes

Since the kids have never done this before and are still beginners when it comes to drawing and painting, I drew a few images to show and tell first.

I ripped two sheets of paper towels as you will need to sandwich your images. I kept the two sheets attached to make it easier to fold and align.

Take your glue and carefully draw your image or write your secret words on one of the sheets. If your paper towel is larger in size, just fold a single sheet in half before you apply your glue image/message.

IMG_2239 IMG_2240

Then carefully fold the paper towels to sandwich your image.

IMG_2241

With your paint, you will want to water it down with a bit of water. I eyeballed the amount but it was about 1 dollop (1 tsp) of paint with 1-2 tbsp of water. Mix it real well.

IMG_2242

Then paint!

IMG_2243 IMG_2244

This was the sample I showed the kids. Then I showed them a picture of a hand x-ray I found online.

IMG_2247

Josh immediately recognized it as a hand.

Then I showed them my next magic image:

IMG_2252

Not bad hey??

Now the little gnomes have their go:

IMG_2249 IMG_2248 IMG_2253

J had so much fun he wanted to make an image of a rocket too

IMG_2245

Sun (Burn) Images

It’s been beautifully sunny and warm lately. Every time we head out for the day, I lather the kids up with sunscreen. Here was a good way for me to demonstrate why we wear sunscreen!

This wonderful idea was from my Instagram pals over at Children’s Museum of Pittsburgh. They created images using light from the sun using light-reflective paper. Here is the DIY on their Pinterest page. If you are ever in their area, visit! They do some amazing and FUN activities there

Unfortunately, we don’t live near Pittsburgh and we don’t have any photosensitive paper + chemicals used for developing photos (a lost art?!). Luckily, PGHkids suggested using a plain black construction paper on a really sunny day. Can you see where this is going?

What you will need:

  • Dark colored construction paper ( we used black and brown)
  • Shapes and cut outs (we used beach toys and recycled construction paper the kids had drawn on prior)
  • Sunny spot

Place your shapes on top of you dark construction paper

IMG_2264

IMG_2265

Find a sunny spot….

IMG_2276

Leave your sun pictures to “burn through” and…go play 🙂

IMG_2280

Come home and check out your sun images!

IMG_2282

IMG_2285

Pretty neat!

IMG_2283 IMG_2286

And kids, this is why you need to wear sunscreen!! Like the shapes on our paper, sunscreen protects your skin!

Sorry my pictures got turned somehow! :-/ ?

IMG_2287 IMG_2288

Leave a Reply

